Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3 Meaningful Use for Eligible Providers: Performance metrics, reporting period lengths, and hardship exemptions

Richard Self, Janis Coffin

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article


In October 2015, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services released its final rule on the new guidelines for alterations to the long-standing EHR Incentive Program. These Modified Stage 2 and upcoming Stage 3 Meaningful Use Rules were developed in response to provider and organizational feedback during the last few years. This article provides a comprehensive overview for the new rules as they relate to Medicare and Medicaid Eligible Providers. Reporting deadlines for previous calendar year compliance and the basic criteria for automatic provider hardship exemptions to avoid reimbursement penalties also are discussed.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)332-335
Number of pages4
JournalJournal of Medical Practice Management
Issue number6
StatePublished - May 1 2016



  • CMS
  • EHR Incentive Program
  • Meaningful Use
  • Medicaid
  • Medicare
  • Modified Stage 2
  • Stage 3

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Health Policy

Cite this